top of page
Search
  • Platform-7

"Crash 2' projections onto Tate Britain


Two and half years ago creator of Silent Cacophony, John McKiernan, saw Daniel McClennan’s film 'Crash 2' at the Goldsmiths BA final degree show. Perfect for Silent Cacophony, Dan here discusses his sudden finding himself projecting the film onto Tate Britain tomorrow between 4.45-5.45pm as part of Silent Cacophony 2013. 'It’s the night before the event, and despite having ticked off the things that I wanted to have done by now, I (as always) find myself preoccupied with minutiae. I am finding little jobs to do as a gift to my future self, to relieve future stress and to try and make everything run as smoothly and effectively as possible. Whether this attention to small details will bless my project with good fortune or not I don’t know, however, I’d be lying if I said that attempting some sort of control over possible obstacles didn’t ease the pang of trepidation. I am not nervous as such, I know performance anxiety very well and I don’t feel that way. I was considerably more agitated whilst trying to secure a location to project onto, I don’t know why but that task seemed curiously insurmountable; perhaps because my experience of working with councils and large institutions has before felt akin to being cast-off into a bureaucratic maze, a Kafka-esque labyrinth where it’s hard to tell where you actually stand. The task of location hunting overwhelmed me more so than the actual logistics of projecting of the video. (Jinx, anyone?) Backed by the burgeoning project, and from conversations with John and other individuals more acquainted with such tasks, I gained a small insight into making such endeavors more feasible. Upon securing Tate Britain’s external wall as a location, I both felt some concerns abate and some intensify; I have a great location, a great surface to work with, but my execution needs to be good enough so as to bond the work and such a culturally rich site into a coherent gesture that still falls within the parameters outlined by the event. My main concern now is not forgetting anything: to contact the right people at the right times, to follow the procedure I’ve planned to follow and give it the best punt I can. I believe in my work, and any nervousness now lies in my doing justice to my work.'

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

 11th November 2013

bottom of page