top of page
Search
  • Platform-7

Bethnal Green Tube Disaster in Music and Poetry


Poet, Jude Cowan Montague discusses her intervention at Bethnal Green Tube Station, based on the oral history of Alf Morris. Accompanying film by Paul Wady Silent Cacophony gave me the opportunity to perform a piece about the Stairway to Heaven Memorial at the site of the memorial itself by the Bethnal Green tube station. I found the stories of survivors on the memorial very moving and really felt a connection. It was very moving to sing my piece which was based on the oral history of one survivor of the tube disaster at the memorial itself.

Many people watched the performance even though they hurried past quickly on their way to work or on their errands. I began performing by the church and moved over to the Stairway to Heaven memorial where there was a suitable stage area between the monument and the tube which worked well and allowed passers-by a chance to look in through the railings to see the performance more clearly than on the church entrance. The church supported the event, allowing me to park my car on the cobbles - this was truly helpful for carting the amplifier and keyboard. I had a Street cube amp, a microphone and stand and a Microkorg keyboard on a portable table. There was a light rain through the morning but not enough to prevent me using my equipment. I was assisted by Matt Armstrong, who helped with practicalities. Paul Wady videoed the performance. I was spoken to by a few passers-by. One elderly gentleman stopped and asked whether it was the anniversary of the Tube Disaster. I said no, but that I was doing it for Remembrance Day. The Stairway to Heaven Memorial was visited by children to lay wreaths during the day. We observed a minute silence together. Sandra talked to the children and a group of visitors that later arrived by tube. The children were fascinated by the musical set up. I have collected comments from some attenders. An interesting point is that two comment on a re-connection with the ritual of the silence at the heart of remembrance day after they have had abandoned this ritual for many years.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

 11th November 2013

bottom of page