top of page
Search
  • Platform-7

Poet Alain English Discusses His Silent Cacophony Experience


I first heard of this project back in August 2013 at a poetry event in Crystal Palace. The organiser, John McKiernan, had met me before at a Burns Night. During the break at the Crystal Palace gig, he approached me and told me about Silent Cacophony. I was intrigued and over the next few weeks, we exchanged emails and I confirmed my involvement. The theme of the project was silence and noise in the time of conflict, specifically World Wars I and II. The date was set for Remembrance Day on 11th November. I was not really familiar with the theme so I immediately researched the period, reading various books on the subject from the library hoping it could yield some material. The website had a location map for Zeppelin and bomb attacks, and I visited some of these sites in East London where I live and this is where I eventually drew up the material I created. Finding an appropriate location to perform was problematic. Initially I suggested a venue, but John was more insistent that the event take place outside. Trying to enlist the help of one venue to publicise the event was a dead-end, as they were rather put-out when they realised we were not going to actually use their venue. I thought about performing outside Bethnal Green station, but that location was already taken up by Jude Cowan [click]. Eventually I settled on Weaver's Field's park, which was only a short walk away. My piece would involve reciting my memorised poems to random passers-by around the sports memorial in the park. There was a lot of back-and-forth between me and John as we sorted out location and licensing issues, but eventually it was all sorted out. I made sure I had all the information to hand on the day, in the event of being approached by the police or the public. In the week before the event, the local papers were contacted and the Londonist website displayed a map of performances. I also promoted the event at various poetry gigs where I recited some of my work. The night before I was terrified - I thought I might be arrested or assaulted. In the event, neither occurred. I made it into the park on the day, and it goes without saying the weather might have been better. I recited my poems every 15 minutes from 12 -2pm. Most of the passers-by did not stop to listen but I did get one or two responses. A lady approached me mid-way through my second set and handed me a cut-out of the East End Life article. It was a small sidebar piece that mentioned my gig. They had got the date and the time right but not the day so it read Thursday 11th November as opposed to Monday 11th November. Performing by the memorial, a young man with a hood and a bike stopped by to hear me recite. When I finished he saluted me - "Stay safe, stay dry, bruv." Given the circumstances, I would call it a successful gig - went off with no problems and no issues. At the gathering that night in St Bride's Library, I got to meet some of the other artists. I already knew Isabel White and Jazzman John Clarke but I also encountered a couple from Northampton and Yorkshire who were performing in Albany, South London. Upstairs we saw a unique event as Sarah Esposito sent in a poem from Boston that was typed in a rigged up typewriter with the keys performing on their own as she wrote the poem. Once this feat was completed I recited the poem for the audience. Later on we saw David Lee Morgan perform his piece from the same location in a film displayed in the hall upstairs. John had paid for all our drinks, a generous act I took full advantage of. This was a unique and worthwhile event and I would certainly consider getting involved with Platform 7 in the future.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

 11th November 2013

bottom of page